THIS I BELIEVE

THIS I BELIEVE

After our two boys were out of the house, and starting lives of their own, I stood at the kitchen sink one day and thought what now? The feeling prompted me to say a prayer out loud. It went like this: God, if there is one, I feel a bit empty now and desire to have something spiritual in my life. But, God please do not let it be church. When we attended churches as a family, they wouldn’t leave us alone, this committee, that committee etc.

I had been reading Shirley MacLaine’s book Out on a Limb. I thought, let me try this meditation thing. So, I sat down on the floor in our bedroom with back straight leaning against the bed. I took some deep breaths, and only a few moments later the thought came to me to ask if there is a God. The answer came right away. Yes! And then the voice in my head said: “You are God”. I said to myself, “of course that makes perfect sense. That is how you know all things, and everyone’s inner thoughts and desires.” That thought “You are God” was the giant light bulb moment. You know the Aha moment that you will never forget.

When the student is ready, a teacher will be given to you.

This is more than 30 years later. I have studied and read everything I could get my hands on during those first 4 or 5 years. I have had some of the best teachers. One was the Angel Gabriel. I continue to be aware and study when the spirit moves me to do that.

I have learned and believe that God is in each one of us. God is in every animal. God is in every stone. God is in every plant. God is in every drop of water. God is in everything on this planet and every other planet.

Living with this knowledge has been wonderful, and at times very scary. I believe we all have to make our own journey to this knowingness. There are so many different ways to do this, I suggest you find yours. Also, I believe all ways are the right way.

11-15-2013

Leave a Reply

